Edmonton Economic Development Corporation

Education for Children

Public education is free. Primary and secondary education is free in Alberta to all Canadian citizens and residents up to the age of 20. Attendance is mandatory from the age of 6 until 16. 

Students may attend public, separate (Catholic or Protestant), Francophone, charter schools, or private schools.

Specialized Choices
In addition to the basic curriculum, many school systems also offer programs in French and other languages. Further options include concentration in arts, drama, music, and trades, or all-girl/all-boy learning environments.

Learn more about other language education in Edmonton through the stories of people who've experienced it at www.edmontonstories.ca.

Home Schooling
In Alberta, children may be educated at home, provided their home schooling meets provincial standards under the School Act.

Informative Resources

Alberta Education - Choices
This site is particularly helpful in describing the various schooling options parents have in Alberta, from charter schools to home learning.

Alberta Education - Curriculum
This site provides excellent information and resources for parents. It includes information on school choices, summaries of required curriculum, and “homework” help.

Alberta Education - Schools
provides a compete list of schools and school boards.

Edmonton Public Schools

Edmonton Public School Board
is a “first stop” website for all information regarding the public school system in Edmonton. It includes a number of successful multi-lingual programs.

Edmonton Public School Board - International Students
has information of specific interest to international students.

Public School Boards Association of Alberta
offers a brief overview of public school education and informs and connects advocates of public schools.

Edmonton Catholic Schools

Edmonton Catholic School District
integrates academic needs with faith, life, and culture.

For French Speakers

Francophone School Board
provides quality education in French throughout Greater Edmonton.

School Districts Outside Edmonton

Black Gold Regional Schools, Division No.18,
encompasses the municipalities of Beaumont, Devon, Thorsby, Calmar, and Leduc.

Elk Island Catholic Schools, Separate Regional Division #41,
encompasses an area slightly east of Edmonton, including Catholic communities in Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Camrose, and Vegreville.

Elk Island Public Schools (located east of Edmonton)
serves students in 43 schools located in Sherwood Park, Fort Saskatchewan, Vegreville, the Counties of Strathcona and Lamont, and the western portion of the County of Minburn.

Evergreen Catholic Schools, Separate Regional Division No.2,
serves the communities of Spruce Grove, Stony Plain, Westlock, Devon, and Hinton (located west of Edmonton).

Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools
serves St. Albert, Morinville, and Legal (located north of Edmonton), as well as surrounding rural areas.

Parkland School Division,
located on the west edge of Edmonton, serves over 9,000 students in 22 schools.

St. Albert Protestant Schools
serves over 6,000 students learning in non-denominational settings, with focus on citizenship and sound values.

Additional Information

The Edmonton Newcomers Guide is a 28-page guide, produced with assistance from Alberta employment and Immigration, is available in English, French, Spanish, Mandarin, Arabic and Hindi, Vietnamese and gives information about housing, policing, garbage collection, transportation, public transit, education, health, recreation and leisure, libraries, municipal government and finding work in Edmonton.